Related Nollywood News

It's Official! Yoruba Movie Academy Awards debuts in Abeokuta

Published: by NMN (Staff) Filed under: Nollywood News - 1,101 Views

The first and official edition of the Yoruba Movie Academy Awards (YMAA) is set to hold on May 20, 2012 in Abeokuta, Ogun State of Nigeria.

YMAA will celebrate creativity and professionalism in the Nigerian movie industry, especially the Yoruba movie industry.

President and Executive Producer of YMAA, Tunde Oshinibosi, said that the sudden development of the Yoruba movie industry is second-to-none and should be recognised and appreciated by Nigerians.

"The Yoruba movie industry produces an average of 70 films a week, therefore, its socio-economic, cultural and tourism potentials cannot be ignored. It also contributes largely to the growth of our great country, Nigeria," Oshinibosi said.

"Right now, the excitement and buzz created within the movie industry, and even the entire country, is unprecedented. YMAA has become the talk-of-the-town among stakeholders, who describe it as an event that will showcase Yoruba culture and tradition across Africa and the world in general."

He added that YMAA will honour and celebrate movie industry professionals in major categories, with the aim of encouraging quality productions and professionalism.

"It is noteworthy that the pioneers of today's Nollywood were Yoruba movie icons like the late Hubert Ogunde, Kola Ogunmola, and Adeyemi Afolayan, popularly known as Ade Love, among others. Now, all hands are on deck to not only stage the biggest event in the Yoruba movie industry, but also to create a brand that will become top of the range in Nigeria," he said.

The categories include: YMAA Best Actor, YMAA Best Actress, YMAA Best Actor in a Supporting Role, YMAA Musician in an Acting Role, YMAA Best Cultural Movie. The films selected for the award are films released between February 2011 and December 2011 and endorsed by the Yoruba Video and Film Producers/Marketers Association of Nigeria (YOVIPFMAN).

The event will be held at the June 12 Cultural Centre, by the Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Ogun State to commemorate the anniversary of Ibikunle Amosun, Governor of Ogun State’s first year in office.

Full list of nominees below:

YMAA Best Actor In A Leading Role
Yomi Fash Lanso
Odunlade Adekola
Muyiwa Ademola
Femi Adebayo
Femi Branch

YMAA Best Actress In A Leading Role

Fathia Balogun
Toyin Aimaku
Funke Akindele
Bimbo Akintola
Mosun Filani

YMAA Best Musician In An Acting Role
Idris Abdulkareem
Saheed Osupa
Sexy Steel

YMAA Most Promising Actor

Tinuke Ogungbe
Damola Olatunji
Gabriel Afolayan
Bisi Komolafe
Kayode Akinbayo

YMAA Best Crossover Actor
Kelvin Ikeduba
Ricado Agbor
Mercy Aigbe
Doris Simeon
Rose Odika

YMAA Best Comedy Actor
Lanre Omiyinka(Ijesa)
Bolaji Amusan(Mr Latin)
Afeez Oyetoro(Saka)
Adekola Tijani
Olaniyi Afonja(Sanyeri)

YMAA Best Actress In A Supporting Role

Rachael Oniga
Sola Sobowale
Fausat Balogun
Toyin Afolayan
Peju Ogunmola

YMAA Best Actor In A Supporting Role

Ebun Oloyede
Antar Laniyan
Dele Odule
Taiwo Hassan
Adebayo Salami

YMAA Best Yoruba Cultural Movie
Kolo Kolo 2
Akuko Oran
Irawo Oke

YMAA Best Director
Bayo Alawiye
Abbey Lanre
Adebayo Tijani
Muyideen .S. Ayinde
Lasun Ray

YMAA Achievement In Sound

Imisi Esu
Emi Abata
Baba Kamimo Won

YMAA Achievement In Cinematography

Kuta Nle
Baba Kamimo Won
Emi Abata

YMAA Best Marketer

Olasco Films
Coporate Pictures
Toymax Film Holdings
Epsalum Production

Source: DailyTimes
Nigeria Movie Network (NMN) is the the leading Network for discovering, sharing and watching FREE Nigerian Movies online and reading latest Nollywood News ...

Post your comment

Be the first to comment